Friday, August 26, 2016

How To Stop WhatsApp From Sharing Your Phone Number To Facebook

   
   
It is no more news that the same person that owns Facebook also owns WhatsApp. Mark Zuckerberg is taking the social media business to another level with frequent introduction of new features both acceptable and non acceptable ones.

The latest now is the announcement from WhatsApp via a blog post that it will start providing targeted ads to users. To achieve this, "WhatsApp will share your phone number with Facebook’s system." and your WhatsApp account might be receiving adverts from companies.

Meanwhile, if you like this feature, then no Walhalla but if you don't like it, no cause to cry out loud as they also created a way to opt-out from it. So follow me along.

If you have already opted in by accepting the new terms and conditions that is now popping up on WhatsApp app, you will apply the second method but if you are yet to see or accept the terms, use the first method.

HOW TO OPT OUT OF WHATSAPP NEW FACEBOOK TERMS
When you launch your updated WhatsApp application, you will see a page that asks you to tap agree on new terms and privacy policy on the screen, just follow below steps:

1. Tap Read
2. Uncheck Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook…
(See why you need to read the terms and conditions?)

However, if you have already agreed to this terms and services ignorantly and wish to opt out, follow this second method

For iOS users
1. Open your WhatsApp
2. Go to Settings > Account.
3. Uncheck Share my account info.

For Android users
1. Open your WhatsApp
2. Tap the three dots icon on the top-right.
3. Tap Settings > Account.
4. Uncheck Share my account info.

NOTE
After 30 days, you might not be able to opt out again.

Although Opting out option is just a consolation, by closely reading their privacy policy, you will see that it still shares your data and whatsapp it’s not all that private again. So checking that option might not still guarantee 100% safety but your chats and messages are still encrypted i.e end to end.

Have you seen this notification on your WhatsApp? What did you do? Let's see your opinion via the comments box.
   
   
   
Get Our Hottest Updates via SMS. Kindly SMS FOLLOW WIZYTECHS to 40404. On Any Network. It Is Totally FREE. Download Our Android App From Playstore HERE
To Submit Your Guest Post Or Sponsored Article, Enter HERE. Click HERE To Join Telegram Group
wizytechs blog-bg
   
   

SHARE THIS

Author:

WizyTechs Is A Top Tech Blog That Provides Affordable Browsing Solutions, Latest Smartphone Reviews, Tweaking Guides, How TOs, Business Tips, Blogging Tricks And Overall Optimization Of Your Phone/PC For Better Performance. Continue Visiting This Blog For Latest Free Browsing Updates. Join Our Social Media Platforms Below

Get Browsing Tips Today From Wizy
Follow us:
facebook twitter gplus pinterest rss

4 comments:

  1. As at the time that this feature came up, i quickly allowed it in my phone but upon reading this post i decided to turn it off

    ReplyDelete
  2. As at the time that this feature came up, i quickly allowed it in my phone but upon reading this post i decided to turn it off

    ReplyDelete

PLACE YOUR COMMENTS HERE